Day out in London- Easter holiday 2015

First of all- Happy Easter, and sorry I haven’t posted in a while!

Last week, my brother and I went to visit our grandparents, and while there we visited London. I thought I’d share my photos, since the buildings we visited were pretty impressive.

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Temple Church

I’ve wanted to visit this for ages, since it’s mentioned in The Da Vinci Code (Dan Brown). It was built by the Knights Templar in the 12th century next to what is now Fleet Street. Despite this being a well known patch of London (and Monopoly!), the church itself is relatively hidden. It’s one of those places you find by accident- or, in our case, after consulting various maps.

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

The round part of the church you see above was built in 1185 (won’t say anymore, since Robert Langdon explains it far better as the main character of The Da Vinci Code!); this bit below was built in 1240.

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

The inside of the church wasn’t really to my taste, though the stained glass windows were fabulous and the church itself is photogenic. It seemed cold and impersonal, which is odd considering its wealth of history.

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

This probably isn’t a technically “good” photo, but I like the faint colours of the stained glass shining on the knight. It makes him seem a little less lifeless, and more like someone who had a history.

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Again, technically not great. I like the streams of light coming through the window- I actually messed with the brightness on my camera to make them whiter. I think it gives an unearthly effect. I might try painting it sometime.

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

 


Royal Courts of Justice

We were lucky with this one- the next day there was a fire in the area and the building had to be evacuated. Unfortunately, photography isn’t allowed inside the courts, so my only photos are from outside. We hadn’t thought visitors were permitted, though, so I suppose I can’t complain about being unable to take photos if I didn’t think I would be allowed in in the first place!

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Though not exactly welcoming, I think it’s an impressive building. I don’t know much about architecture (read: absolutely nothing), so this may be completely the wrong term, but I feel like “gothic” suits it quite well.


St Clement Danes Church

Oranges and lemons say the bells of St Clement’s (if my memory serves me right)

The RAF’s church, St Clement Danes, is next door-ish to the Royal Courts. Despite being in the middle of a bustling street, it was very quiet when we visited. It was easily my favourite, because it was much more personal than Temple Church without losing its grandeur.

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley

Photo: Scribbley


I hope you enjoyed looking at the pictures- though I know there were a lot of them! The churches in particular were beautiful to look round, so if you’re into photography or if you like wandering round churches and old buildings like me I’d recommend visiting them if you are ever in London. They’re at least a bit different to the “usual” attractions- plus they don’t cost the earth!

One thought on “Day out in London- Easter holiday 2015

Leave a Reply

