Our favourite films are a bit miserable

30 Day Blog Challenge- Day 9


Favourite Movies

How do you define a favourite film? Is it the one that made you laugh the most? The one that you wept through? The one you watch every Christmas? The film you went to see on your first date? The one that you watch every sleepover?

Who knows, but the Internet Movie Database has created a list of the top 250 films ever, as voted by regular IMDb users. The top five films are:

  • The Shawshank Redemption
  • The Godfather
  • The Godfather Part II
  • The Dark Knight
  • Pulp Fiction

Apparently, our favourite movies- or at least the ones we rate the highest- aren’t happy ones. Aren’t we a miserable species?

I don’t know about you, but I’ve only seen one of these “top five” films (The Shawshank Redemption). Maybe I’m a wee bit uncultured, but I rather like things a bit more upbeat. And by upbeat, I mean hilarious or eek!-inducingly romantic.

What are my favourite movies?

Well, three’s the charm, so here are three of my favourite films, as well as their IMDb ratings:

Picture from: prideandprejudice05.blogspot.co.uk

Picture from: prideandprejudice05.blogspot.co.uk

Pride and Prejudice (7.8/10)

You know the story. Elizabeth Bennett and Mr Darcy can’t stand each other- until they suddenly realise they are perfect for one another and are actually in love. I know, yawn yawn. I don’t even like Jane Austen- but I adore this film. It makes me smile, and then well up when Darcy confesses “I love you… most ardently” (pass me the smelling salts!)

Swoon (Muffled sobbing) Picture from: Tumblr. Original source unknown

(Muffled sobbing)
Picture from: Tumblr. Original source unknown

Shaun of the Dead (8/10)

Picture from: IMDb

Picture from: IMDb

Polar opposite of lovely Lizzie and Darcy’s romance, this “zom-rom-com” just makes me cackle and cackle and cackle. I just find it hilarious, especially the scene where Shaun and Ed throw records at zombies in their garden (doesn’t sound quite so funny in print).

Picture from: quickmeme.com

Picture from: quickmeme.com

Pretty Woman (6.9/10)

Picture from: IMDb

Picture from: IMDb

MY ABSOLUTE FAVOURITE FILM OF ALL TIME. I mean, the other two come close but…

Basically: I could rewatch Pretty Woman on a loop for the rest of my life and I’d still never get bored of it. It makes me smile so much my cheeks hurt, and ugh I just love it so much.

My FAVOURITE scene! Picture from: Pinterest. Original source unknown

My FAVOURITE scene!
Picture from: Pinterest. Original source unknown

 

I hope IMDb’s data is only representative of a few people. I mean, it would be nice if our favourite films were statistically a little bit happier. Bit upset that my favourite favourite favourite film only got a measly 6.9/10!


Yesterday I posted about my favourite foods, restaurants and candy. Tomorrow’s theme is favourite TV shows.


So, what about you? What’s your favourite film?

 

3 thoughts on “Our favourite films are a bit miserable

  1. Pingback: TV? Not really for me | scribbley

Leave a Reply

