Let’s get Arty

Day 7: Favourite Pictures

Today’s theme is favourite pictures. I suspect it’s supposed to be personal pictures, but that’s the thing- they’re personal, and I want to keep them as such. Instead, I thought I would share some of my favourite pieces of artwork.


Girl with a Pearl Earring- Vermeer

Photo: janvermeer.org

Photo: janvermeer.org

I much prefer this to the smug Mona Lisa. The shading on the girl’s face is beautifully contoured, but for me her eyes are what make the picture so special. They are so wide and innocent, and you get a real impression of the girl behind the painting. I actually painted a copy of this for my Art GCSE, which in hindsight was a tad overambitious! It turned out pretty well though.

Liberty Leading the People- Eugène Delacroix

Photo from: Wikipedia

Photo from: Wikipedia

Picture from: nbmaa.wordpress.com

Picture from: nbmaa.wordpress.com

To be perfectly honest, I first saw this on the album cover of Coldplay’s Viva La Vida. I’ll probably always associate it with the song too. For me, both this painting and the actual song Viva La Vida will always represent revolution (and bring back memories of singing “I USED TO RUUUULE THE WORLD” on our D of E expedition!). I love the fact a woman’s in the forefront, too. I know she’s supposed to be the goddess Liberty, but she also weirdly reminds me of Madame Defarge in A Tale of Two Cities (except hopefully less villainous, and minus the knitting!).

Garden at Vetheuil- Monet

Picture from: claudemonetgallery.org

Picture from: claudemonetgallery.org

I don’t really like Monet’s style, but I came across this in a book of art postcards and liked it. It features sunflowers, which kinda automatically makes it a, er, sunny picture, and the child walking down the path reminds me of Mary in the Secret Garden. It’s how I envisage she comes to see the garden- bursting with life and colour.


Well, this is my take on the challenge, so why not throw in some photography?

I adore black and white photography, especially of people, be that a conscious decision or simply because the photo’s old. I love the intensity and the drama the contrast lends the picture, and the inky effect it gives the subject’s irises.

Photo: people.desktopnexus.com

Photo: people.desktopnexus.com

Photo: The Telegraph

Photo: The Telegraph

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


What are your favourite pictures?

 

5 thoughts on “Let’s get Arty

  1. Pingback: TV? Not really for me | scribbley
  2. You have a good range of pictures here. I love black and white photos. Colour doesn’t always enhance an image. I’m also hit-and-miss with Monet but I prefer this one to his bowls of fruit and vases of flowers. At least this one suggests movement. The first two appeal in different ways, so I won’t make a choice between them. Nice post, Scribbley. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

