Versatile Blogger Award

versatile-blogger-awardI’ve been nominated for the Versatile Blogger award by Millie Thom (thank you, it made my day!).

Here are the Versatile Bloggers Award rules:

  1. Show the award on your blog. (Done!)
  2. Thank the person who nominated you. (THANK YOU! :D)
  3. Share seven facts about yourself.
  4. Nominate 15 blogs.
  5. Link your nominee’s blogs & let them know. You can click on each one mentioned to get to their blogs.

Seven Facts

  1. I’ve wanted to write a novel for as long as I can remember. Even in primary school, I wanted to write. For some reason, though, it’s always been a massive secret. I hate talking to people I know in real life about writing because I don’t want them to read something I’ve written (I know, it’s so illogical!). I still never really talk about writing other than on this blog. Bizarre.
  2. Despite the fact that I’ve always wanted to write, it took forever for me to actually write anything. For about, hmm, I don’t know, until I was 14-ish all my stories were in my head. 99.9% of them still are. It was like I had a phobia of actually getting things on paper, and when I actually did I just wrote scenes without linking them together. Doomed to failure, that. So for about 3 years, I continually wrote on this idea I’d been shaping in my head since I was ten (I literally still remember thinking up my protagonist), without getting anywhere. So I decided to put that idea to rest for a while, pick up another I’d been thinking about- and actually do some proper planning. That’s when I set up this blog.
  3. The King of shells is the big one in the top right-hand corner!

    The King of shells is the big one in the top right-hand corner!

    I wasn’t a girly-girl as I remember, but I wasn’t a “tomboy” as a child. I had loads of dolls. Loads. I used to make up tonnes and tonnes of stories as I played with them, but, weirdly, my main inspiration came from a box of shells. I always collect pretty shells on holiday, and I have done for donkeys years, and they make up this box. They’re all different patterns and shapes, and in that sense they very loosely resemble people. When I was little I would spread them out on my bedroom floor and make up families and friendship groups of shells, and then make up stories to go with them. The one story I remember vividly was about how a group of shells had to move into a new area because of either war or natural disaster (the latter was around the time of the 2004 Tsunami) and it was kind of about how they fitted in and got used to living in this new place. I even had a King and Queen of shells!

  4. I first published a story online when I was about 14. My friend had told me about Wattpad, and so I decided to post a Dramione fan fiction- I still haven’t finished it because I started another fan fiction halfway through! Story of my life- I always have a million projects on the go!
  5. My diaries

    My diaries

    I have kept a diary since I was ten, on and off. I got a pretty notebook for Christmas in year 6 and decided I wanted to start a diary. No idea why. The entries were really few and far between for a good few years, but I started writing regularly when I was 14 (everything seems to have happened when I was 14!) and now write several times a week. I love getting my feelings on paper- it’s very cathartic- but it’s so weird flicking through my old diaries now. It’s like reading someone else’s diary- plus it’s so embarrassing reading about old crushes and petty fallouts!

  6. Some recent book purchases!

    Some recent book purchases!

    My favourite ways to spend time are either with friends or family, or curled up with a book. Reading is great escapism! I love going to Waterstones and buying loads of brand new books, or coming across an old copy of a book I really want to read in a charity shop. I think all my money goes on books, music, and chocolate! I’m really enjoying writing my book  reviews for this blog, actually.

  7. Other than writing, I love knitting and sewing (especially with my sewing machine; I’m trying to get into crochet but… meh); I like art but I only paint/ draw/ whatever like three times a year max, and then it’s just a brief chaotic outburst!; I love photography: actually taking photos myself, and looking at other people’s work- I’m not very good (nowhere near patient enough!) but I find it very satisfying when you take a photo and think yes.

Nominations

I’m supposed to nominate 15, but when I looked through the blogs I follow I found that a) I don’t follow nearly enough blogs (and am now on a following spree) and b) a lot of the blogs I follow really stick to their theme, which isn’t a bad thing, but I’m not sure they count as versatile (???). Here are a few that I enjoy reading though:

  1. Authored by Allison
  2. Chapter TK
  3. From the Mind of a Muggle
  4. Ink Soup Poetry
  5. Rachel Peterson
  6. The Writing Hufflepuff

 

Leave a Reply

