Weekly Catchup

Just completed my third week of writing- I’m having so much fun! My writing is putting the ‘rough’ in ‘rough draft’ but it’s still writing, which is the main thing. I’ve missed a few days of writing this week through the devil of procrastination, yet when I have written, I’ve written loads so I guess that evens it out a bit.

Here’s what I’ve learned this week:

  • Set daily goals. Even if it’s just a paragraph, or half a side, or a full side of paper. It helps to have an amount to aim for. Don’t force yourself too much though, else it will show in your writing. Equally, though, don’t limit yourself. If you want to write an extra three pages, you go for it!
  • If you miss a day of writing, don’t spend the next day fretting you’ve got to write double your planned daily word count. That is a sure-fire way to give you writer’s block. Seriously. Chill. Write as you normally would, and you might find you’ll go over the amount you want to write per day. If you keep doing that, you’ll make up the missed day. There’s no point in straining to write an extra thousand words or whatever. Look forward, not backward.
  • Celebrate your achievements. If you’re super stuck and you write a sentence. If you reach your daily goal. If you reach your next thousand words. Recognising how far you’ve come is a great way to motivate yourself.

Well, off to write some more- despite I’m knackered and my feet kill ’cause I went to a party last night and I think I danced (I say “danced” loosely…) for hours. I think it’ll end up being a load of gibberish, though, ‘cause my head didn’t hit my pillow ’til about 6 this morning. It’s a hard life…

Anyhoo, I’ll post again in a week- again, if you’d like to request a post or if there’s anything you’d like to see on my blog, let me know!

Leave a Reply

