Gunpowder, treason and PLOT PLOT PLOT

Hiya! It feels like I haven’t done a post in ages so here we go…

You may recall a post I did about 2 months ago about how I was just going to try and write my first draft despite the fact that my plot idea was pretty wishy washy. (*FACEPALM*). Are you at all surprised to hear that this has resulted in about 3,000 words of writing that is going nowhere? Me neither. So, since this is my day off and the only appointment I have is at the hairdressers… here I am properly planning my novel (so much for being free-spirited and just writing).

And, since I’m doing that, I figure I might as well try and put together a post on figuring out where exactly your story is going. Wish me luck!
PS This is the closest I’m going to get to liveblogging so suck it up


9.42 Right. So, my current idea for my novel has completely changed from my original idea, as of, like, yesterday. (I always was a bit fickle when it came to plot lines). To try and cement it in my head, I’m going to try and write a sentence about what the hell this story’s about anyways.


10.02 ‘My novel is about the slow deterioration between a husband, his mistress and his wife, and how this leads to a vicious power play and eventually death.’ So there you go: my summarising sentence. Isn’t it fabulous? Uh, no, actually. I mean, yes, it covers the main gist of the story, but it could also describe about a billion other stories- Gone Girl, for example. Except I know my story is nothing like Gone Girl. I know a lot more details about my story that could completely change your perception of it. Onto- Plotting Tip #2.

So, I guess most people are familiar with the rule of 3. Like, you have your intro, the main body of your story and then the ending/climax. I figure that once you’ve got these three figured out, you’re half way there.

11.47 Okay. So you know the vague structure of your story. Intro, main, ending. I’ve written a few bullet points describing each.
Thing is, there are events that happen between these three that cause the following sequence of events. Like, in the beginning of my story there are two women that hate one another. By the middle, there’s some serious sexual tension between them. How do they get there, hmm?
When you’re planning you have to think of the minor events too. Which is what I’m doing now so I’ll be back with some tips later. Byee!

One thought on “Gunpowder, treason and PLOT PLOT PLOT

  1. Reblogged this on scribbley and commented:

    9.42 Right. So, my current idea for my novel has completely changed from my original idea, as of, like, yesterday. (I always was a bit fickle when it came to plot lines). To try and cement it in my head, I’m going to try and write a sentence about what the hell this story’s about anyways.

    Like

Leave a Reply

