Location, location, location II

So you’ve drawn your map, you have a vague idea of what each place in your story looks like, where they are etc… Just… what are they called?

That was the issue facing me last night. I couldn’t for the life of me think of any place names. I wanted an overall village name, the name of the house where one of my characters lives, and the name of the estate where the other two do.

  • I tried a word association game– I wanted place names that reflected the characters that lived there. I thought of the characters’ personalities, then something that seemed to reflect them. I was hoping that would give me an idea of place names but, naturally, nothing could come to my head at that time. That would be far too convenient!
  • At this point, I turned our good friend, the trusty old internet. Here I found a place name generator:
    http://www.namegenerator.biz/place-name-generator.php
    It’s perfectly simple to use, and gave me inspiration for my place names: Easterly, for the village; 14 Madding Lane, for the character’s house; and the Farnworth Estate, for the other characters’ estate.

Summary:

  1. If you’re stuck for place names, try to think of words that reflect the mood of the place, or the people that live there- hopefully you’ll have more luck thinking of a name from that than I did!
  2. If not… use a name generator! I’ve provided a link above to the one I used.

Hope you find this useful,

Scribbley


A link to my first post on writing location: https://scribbleywhile.wordpress.com/2014/07/15/location-location-location/

Leave a Reply

